Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Fleetwood Town’s Nathan Pond one of many new captains to lead their clubs out this weekend

7 August 2015

Fleetwood Town’s longest-serving player Nathan Pond is set to lead the Cod Army out this Saturday in his first game as the club’s captain.

The 30-year-old first joined Fleetwood Town in 2003, when the club were playing in the North West Counties League First Division. He has won six promotions with the Cod Army in that time, and alongside his title as the club’s longest-serving player, he now has the captain’s armband in his possession.

“I am delighted with the decision,” Pond told Fleetwood’s official website.

“It was a proud moment when I found out. We have had three or four different captains throughout pre-season. I have tried to lead by example every day and I am over the moon to be the new Fleetwood Town captain.”

Pond will take the armband for the first time in The Football League against Southend United this Saturday, and he has become the latest in a long list of players across The Football League to have been awarded the responsibility for the upcoming season.

In the Sky Bet Championship, the likes of Leeds United’s Sol Bamba, Bolton Wanderers’ Darren Pratley and Queens Park Rangers Nedum Onuoha have all been selected to captain their respective clubs this term.

BREAKING: Nedum Onuoha has been named #QPR's captain for the 2015/16 season:

— QPR FC (@QPRFC) July 13, 2015
There have also been new appointments to the role throughout Sky Bet League 1, with Michael Bostwick skippering Peterborough United, and David Ferguson and Jay McEveley tasked with the Blackpool and Sheffield United armbands respectively.

Sky Bet League 2 sees the likes of Andre Boucaud at Dagenham & Redbridge and Morecambe’s Peter Murphy stepping up to the plate for the new season.

Peter Murphy named Captain

— Morecambe FC (@ShrimpsOfficial) August 6, 2015
You can monitor all of the new captains’ progress throughout Match Round 1 of The Football League this weekend, via the divisional Twitter accounts - @SkyBetChamp, @SkyBetLeague1 and @SkyBetLeague2.

Advertisement block