Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Capital One Cup Round 1 preview

11 August 2015

It’s time; the 2015/16 Capital One Cup is here! The Football League’s showpiece cup competition gets started this week with 36 First Round ties taking place.

The Road to Wembley begins on Tuesday when 32 games take place, before three on Wednesday, including a televised Sky Sports fixture between Portsmouth and Derby County.

The cameras will then be at the Keepmoat Stadium on Thursday for Doncaster Rovers versus Leeds United, which concludes the Round 1 action. That game in Yorkshire will be followed by the Round 2 draw, and the 2015/16 Capital One Cup will be well under way!

Here’s the full line-up of Round 1 ties…

Tuesday 11th August

Accrington Stanley v Hull City
Blackburn Rovers v Shrewsbury Town
Brentford v Oxford United
Bristol Rovers v Birmingham City
Cardiff City v AFC Wimbledon
Carlisle United v Chesterfield
Charlton Athletic v Dagenham & Redbridge    
Colchester United v Reading
Fleetwood Town v Hartlepool United
Huddersfield Town v Notts County
Ipswich Town v Stevenage
Luton Town v Bristol City    
Millwall v Barnet    
Milton Keynes Dons v Leyton Orient
Morecambe v Sheffield United
Northampton Town v Blackpool
Nottingham Forest v Walsall
Peterborough United v Crawley Town
Plymouth Argyle v Gillingham
Port Vale v Burnley    
Rochdale v Coventry City     
Rotherham United v Cambridge United    
Scunthorpe United v Barnsley
Sheffield Wednesday v Mansfield Town
Southend United v Brighton & Hove Albion    
Swindon Town v Exeter City
Wigan Athletic v Bury
Wolverhampton Wanderers v Newport County
Wycombe Wanderers v Fulham
Yeovil Town v Queens Park Rangers
York City v Bradford City
Bolton Wanderers v Burton Albion (8pm)

Wednesday 12th August

Crewe Alexandra v Preston North End
Oldham Athletic v Middlesbrough
Portsmouth v Derby County (live on Sky Sports)

Thursday 13th August

Doncaster Rovers v Leeds United (live on Sky Sports)

Round 1 preview

Sheffield United - last season’s semi-finalists - begin their campaign at Morecambe, while 2013 surprise-package Bradford City are at York City.

Queens Park Rangers, Oxford United and Middlesbrough are all previous winners of the competition and they too are on the road in Round 1. While QPR go to Paul Sturrock’s Yeovil Town, the U’s play Brentford at Griffin Park.

Boro, meanwhile, take on Oldham Athletic on Wednesday in a repeat of last season’s First Round clash between the pair, which Aitor Karanka’s men won 3-0.

Roll of honour: Click here to see a list of previous League Cup winners

Hull City feature in Round 1 for the first time in three seasons and they travel to Sky Bet League 2 Accrington Stanley, while Barnet and Bristol Rovers also return to the competition - they play Millwall and Birmingham City respectively.

Read more: Click here to read our Capital One Cup preview

Match official appointments

The officials appointed to Capital One Cup Round 1 games have been announced.

Read more: Click here to see the Capital One Cup Round 1 appointments

Round 2 draw

The draw for Capital One Cup Round 2 matches, which see the 12 Premier League teams not involved in UEFA competitions enter, will take place upon the conclusion of Doncaster Rovers versus Leeds United on Thursday 13th August 2015.

Don’t miss it!

We’ll be providing live match updates from all Round 1 games in the Capital One Cup on Twitter, via @CapitalOne_Cup.

Channel 5 is the new home for competition highlights, Capital One Cup Tonight, with an hour-long programme being broadcast at 11pm on Wednesday 12th August.

Read more: Capital One Cup Round 1 highlights – Football on 5

Advertisement block