Skip to main content Skip to site footer

A look at the men in the dugout ahead of the 2015/16 Football League season

5 August 2015

The 2015/16 Football League campaign gets under way this weekend, and we've looked at the line-up of managers in charge of clubs going into the new season.

For two men, the new term represents a fresh challenge as Paul Clement and Teddy Sheringham make their managerial bows.

After coaching spells at high-profile clubs such as Chelsea, PSG and Real Madrid, Clement felt the time was right to go it alone, and has already set his sights on promotion from the Sky Bet Championship with Derby County this term.

Sheringham, previously a coach at West Ham United, has taken the reins at Stevenage, and his maiden voyage into management begins in front of the Boro faithful at 3pm on Saturday.

It's not just the former England striker who is new to Sky Bet League 2, however. Derek Adams has travelled from one end of the United Kingdom to the other - the former Ross County boss makes his first foray into English football as the new Plymouth Argyle manager.

Ian Hendon was in charge of Barnet in League 2 between 2008 and 2010, and his new charges for the new campaign are another club from the capital, Leyton Orient.

In the Sky Bet Championship, Marinus Dijkhuizen and Carlos Carvalhal face their first competitive games on British shores after the pair were appointed as respective head coaches of Brentford and Sheffield Wednesday in the close season.

Elsewhere, Uwe Rosler, who is no stranger to the division, will lead out Leeds United for the first time at 12:30pm on Saturday, for their game against Burnley live on Sky Sports.

Sky Bet League 1 sees the two losing Play-Off semi-finalists from last time around, Chesterfield and Sheffield United, head into 2015/16 with new managers at the helm, in Dean Saunders and Nigel Adkins.

Blackpool and Oldham Athletic are also seeking improvements with the hirings of Neil McDonald and Darren Kelly respectively.

At the other end of the scale, Paul Tisdale is the longest-serving Football League manager by some distance - the 42-year-old Exeter City boss is heading into his 10th term at St. James Park.

Karl Robinson is next on the list and he faces his toughest challenge yet with Milton Keynes Dons embarking on their first season in the Sky Bet Championship, where they will face Hull City and Steve Bruce, who is a new entry into the top 10 following the Tigers' relegation from the Premier League.

Below is a list of the current permanent Football League managers, in order of appointment:

1Paul TisdaleExeter City06/06League 2
2Karl RobinsonMilton Keynes Dons05/10Championship
3Dean SmithWalsall01/11League 1
4Jim BentleyMorecambe05/11League 2
Phil ParkinsonBradford City08/11League 1
6Steve DavisCrewe Alexandra11/11League 1
7Steve EvansRotherham United04/12Championship
8Steve BruceHull City06/12Championship
9Gareth AinsworthWycombe Wanderers09/12League 2
10Richard MoneyCambridge United10/12League 2
11Neal ArdleyAFC Wimbledon10/12League 2
12Sean DycheBurnley10/12Championship
13Mick McCarthyIpswich Town11/12Championship
14Graham AlexanderFleetwood Town12/12League 1
15Keith HillRochdale02/13League 1
16Simon GraysonPreston North End02/13Championship
17John StillLuton Town02/13League 2
18Wayne BurnettDagenham & Redbridge02/13League 2
19Gary BowyerBlackburn Rovers03/13Championship
20Phil BrownSouthend United03/13League 1
21Paul DickovDoncaster Rovers05/13League 1
22Kenny JackettWolverhampton Wanderers05/13Championship
23Mark CooperSwindon Town07/13League 1
24Aitor KarankaMiddlesbrough11/13Championship
25Steve CotterillBristol City12/13Championship
26David FlitcroftBury12/13League 1
27Chris WilderNorthampton Town01/14League 2
28Martin AllenBarnet03/14League 2
29Darrell ClarkeBristol Rovers03/14League 2
30Micky MellonShrewsbury Town05/14League 1
31Michael AppletonOxford United07/14League 2
32Tony HumesColchester United09/14League 1
33Chris PowellHuddersfield Town09/14Championship
34John ColemanAccrington Stanley09/14League 2
35Rob PagePort Vale09/14League 1
36Kit SymonsFulham09/14Championship
37Keith CurleCarlisle United09/14League 2
38Russell SladeCardiff City10/14Championship
39Neil LennonBolton Wanderers10/14Championship
40Mark RobinsScunthorpe United10/14League 1
41Russ WilcoxYork City10/14League 2
42Gary RowettBirmingham City10/14Championship
43Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkBurton Albion11/14League 1
44Adam MurrayMansfield Town11/14League 2
45Steve ClarkeReading12/14Championship
46Ronnie MooreHartlepool United12/14League 2
47Chris HughtonBrighton & Hove Albion12/14Championship
48Guy LuzonCharlton Athletic01/15Championship
49Dougie FreedmanNottingham Forest02/15Championship
50Chris RamseyQueens Park Rangers02/15Championship
51Justin EdinburghGillingham02/15League 1
52Dave RobertsonPeterborough United02/15League 1
53Lee JohnsonBarnsley02/15League 1
54Tony MowbrayCoventry City03/15League 1
55Neil HarrisMillwall03/15League 1
56Ricardo MonizNotts County04/15League 2
57Gary CaldwellWigan Athletic04/15League 1
58Paul SturrockYeovil Town04/15League 2
59Terry ButcherNewport County04/15League 2
60Paul CookPortsmouth05/15League 2
61Dean SaundersChesterfield05/15League 1
62Mark YatesCrawley Town05/15League 2
63Uwe RoslerLeeds United05/15Championship
64Ian HendonLeyton Orient05/15League 2
65Marinus DijkhuizenBrentford06/15Championship
66Paul ClementDerby County06/15Championship
67Darren KellyOldham Athletic06/15League 1
68Teddy SheringhamStevenage06/15League 2
69Neil McDonaldBlackpool06/15League 1
70Nigel AdkinsSheffield United06/15League 1
71Derek AdamsPlymouth Argyle06/15League 2
72Carlos CarvalhalSheffield Wednesday06/15Championship

Please note this data has been compiled on the basis of when individuals first took charge of a match, so in some instances this is from the period when they were installed as caretaker boss.

Advertisement block