Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Young Player of the Year shortlist announced for The Football League Awards 2015

14 April 2015

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award, with the winner to be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.

This nominees for this year's award, which covers players in all three Football League divisions, are Dele Alli (Milton Keynes Dons), Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough) and Nathan Redmond (Norwich City).

Presented to the best player in The Football League under the age of 21, or in the season in which he turned 21, the award celebrates the emergence of young playing talent at The League’s 72 clubs and has previously been won by the likes of Gareth Bale, Fabian Delph and Wilfried Zaha. Currently a third of all players registered with Football League clubs are eligible to be considered for this award.

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans. To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories. Shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year in each division will be announced ahead of the weekend. Other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 19th April 2015.

Young Player of the Year shortlist and nominee information:

Dele Alli (Milton Keynes Dons)

Dele has had an outstanding season for Milton Keynes Dons, becoming a key figure in Karl Robinson’s promotion-chasing side. The 19-year-old midfielder joined the Dons’ Academy aged 11 before making his debut as a 16-year-old. His form this season, in which he has scored 14 goals including a hat-trick against Crewe Alexandra, resulted in him signing for Tottenham Hotspur in the last transfer window before being loaned back to the Dons. This season also saw Dele selected for the England Under-19s for the first time, having previously represented his country at Under-18 and Under-17 level.  

Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)

Currently on loan in the north east from Chelsea, 21-year-old Patrick has led the line at Middlesbrough this season, scoring 18 goals as Boro battle for promotion from the Sky Bet Championship. The England Under-21 international has been one of the stand-out players in the division and has developed into a firm favourite with the fans on Teesside. Having started his career with local club Nottingham Forest’s Academy, Patrick has already made over 100 appearances for Football League clubs, with loan spells at Milton Keynes Dons and Derby County preceding his time at Middlesbrough this term.

Nathan Redmond (Norwich City)

Nathan’s form for Norwich City this season has helped drive them on to occupy a regular place near the top of the Sky Bet Championship table in the race for promotion. The midfielder has found the net three times this season, with goals against Huddersfield Town, Brentford and Blackpool. An established member of the England Under-21 team, Nathan is a fans’ favourite at Carrow Road thanks to his pace and skill. He started his career with hometown club Birmingham City, making his first-team debut as a 16-year-old, before signing for the Canaries in 2013.

Previous Winners

2014: Will Hughes (Derby County)
2013: Thomas Ince (Blackpool)
2012: Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace)
2011: Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town)
2010: Nathaniel Clyne (Crystal Palace)
2009: Fabian Delph (Leeds United)
2008: Michael Kightly (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
2007: Gareth Bale (Southampton)
2006: David Nugent (Preston North End)

Advertisement block