Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year shortlist announced for The Football League Awards 2015

17 April 2015

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year award, with the winner to be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the scores added up to get a shortlist and an overall winner.

This nominees for this year's award, as voted for by Sky Bet Championship managers, are Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough), Troy Deeney (Watford) and Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans. To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories. As well as the Sky Bet Players of the Year, other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 19th April 2015.

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year shortlist and nominee information:

Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough)

At just 21-years-old, Patrick has already earned himself a reputation as a prolific goal scorer. On this season’s evidence, that is certainly the case as his 17 league goals have propelled Middlesbrough into the promotion race. As well as his goals, his performances for Boro have brought him widespread praise and have been key to the success of Aitor Karanka’s side this season. Also nominated for The Football League Young Player of the Year award, the England Under-21 international is one of the most highly-regarded young players around.

Troy Deeney (Watford)

One of the division’s most consistent strikers, Troy has again shown why he is regarded as one of the hottest properties around. He’s shown a deadly touch in front of goal throughout the campaign as he’s reached the 20-goal mark for the third successive season. Highlights include five goals in two games in December, including a hat-trick in a 5-0 win for the Hornets at Fulham, and a run of scoring a goal in six consecutive games through February and March as Watford mounted their promotion charge.

Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town)

Banging in the goals for Ipswich Town, Daryl tops the Sky Bet Championship scoring charts this season. His outstanding contribution to Ipswich’s promotion push certainly hasn’t gone unnoticed as he became their first player since Darren Bent in 2004/05 to score 20 league goals for them in a season. Arguably in the form of his career, after previous spells at Sunderland and Celtic, it is clear Daryl is really enjoying life under Mick McCarthy in East Anglia.

Previous Winners

2014: Danny Ings (Burnley)
2013: Matej Vydra (Watford)
2012: Rickie Lambert (Southampton)
2011: Adel Taarabt (Queens Park Rangers)
2010: Kevin Nolan (Newcastle United)
2009: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
2008: Kevin Phillips (West Bromwich Albion)
2007: Jason Koumas (West Bromwich Albion)
2006: Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United)

Advertisement block