Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Football League Awards: Capital One Supporter of the Year shortlist announced

17 April 2015

The Football League have announced the shortlist for the Capital One Supporter of the Year award, with the winner to be revealed on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.

The shortlist is made up of one fan from each division, with each being the Capital One Supporter of the Year in their division.  Supporters representing Brighton & Hove Albion, Crawley Town and Exeter City are included on the shortlist for the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London at the weekend.

Sarah Watts (Brighton & Hove Albion) – Championship

Sarah was well known for her relentless campaigning against homophobia with the Brighton & Hove Supporters’ Club and the Gay Football Supporters’ Network. She also played a vital role in ensuring the Club’s new stadium was built due to her work on the ‘Falmer For All’ campaign.  Sarah sadly passed away in January of this year, with tributes pouring in from fellow fans, former Seagulls players and leading figures across the game.

Tracey Cole (Crawley Town) – League 1

Tracey Cole, described by one fellow fan as an ‘extremely dedicated supporter of Crawley Town’, spends a significant amount of her own time helping to arrange travel to away matches for the Crawley Town Supporters Alliance. Tracey and her partner Gary hire minibuses to ensure there is transport organised.

Greg Hill (Exeter City) – League 2

Described by one fellow fan as ‘a credit to the club and football in general’, Greg is a well-known face among Exeter City fans, helping to sell programmes before home games and flying his ‘Grecian Greg’ flag at grounds around League 2. Although he lives with disability that requires him to use a wheelchair, Greg does not let this get in the way of following his favourite team and he regularly makes long journeys around the country cheering on the Devon side.

Drew Barrand, Marketing Director of The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2015 provides not just the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch over the last year, but also the chance to celebrate the last 10 years of the event.

“We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening on Sunday.”

To tie in with the 10th anniversary of the Football League Awards, this year there are a total of 10 categories, including the Sky Bet Players of the Year, Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Kiln Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

Fans can watch the Awards ceremony live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:30pm on Sunday evening at  Highlights of the event will also be broadcast on Sky Sports on Monday evening.

Previous Winners
2014: Phil Beeton (Leeds United)
2013: Neil Le Milliere (Exeter City)
2012: Sue Pollard (Plymouth Argyle)
2011: Kevin Monks (Coventry City)
2010: Herbert Taylor (Southampton)
2009: Warner Duff (Ipswich Town)
2008: Paul Samrah (Brighton & Hove Albion)
2007: Stan McGowan (Bury)
2006: Jeff Hall (Chesterfield)

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.

Advertisement block