Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Football League managers set for dugout debuts at new clubs

17 October 2014

Six managers will take charge of their teams for the first time this weekend after a busy period of changes in The Football League.

In the Sky Bet Championship, Russell Slade will lead Cardiff City for the first time since replacing Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, who resigned last month, against Stuart Pearce's high-flying Nottingham Forest in a televised match in the Welsh capital.

Neil Lennon was announced as Dougie Freedman's successor at Bolton Wanderers this week, and will take charge of the Trotters for the first time, against Birmingham City at St Andrew's.

Slavisa Jokanovic – Watford's fourth Head Coach of the season - takes the Hornets to Sheffield Wednesday for his English managerial debut after replacing Billy McKinlay.

Having picked up just three league wins from their opening  12 Sky Bet League 1 games, Scunthorpe United have replaced Russ Wilcox with Mark Robins and the former Huddersfield Town boss will make his debut in the Iron dugout at Colchester United.

Wilcox wasn't out of work for long, being appointed by York City on Wednesday following the resignation of Nigel Worthington. Last season's LMA League 2 Manager of the Year starts life as York boss at home to Shrewsbury Town.

Elsewhere in Sky Bet League 2 on Saturday, Micky Adams will be in the dugout for the first time as Tranmere Rovers' manager, at Oxford United, with his hiring being announced on Thursday.

A change in the managerial hotseat has certainly paid dividends for several teams in The Football League of late, particularly for Accrington Stanley, who have won three of their last four following the return of John Coleman.

Carlisle United have enjoyed an instant upturn in fortunes under Keith Curle, with three successive wins quadrupling their points tally recorded prior to his arrival.

Chris Powell's reign at Huddersfield Town has finally taken off following a difficult start - they've picked up seven points from the last nine available.

Also in the Sky Bet Championship, caretaker boss Kit Symons has guided Fulham to their first two wins of the campaign in recent games, following their miserable start to the season.

Alongside the Cottagers, Slade's former club Leyton Orient remain without a permanent boss, as do League 2 side Hartlepool United, after they parted company with Colin Cooper.

Port Vale also go into the weekend managerless, for the fourth league game in a row, although stand-in boss Rob Page watched the Valiants record a convincing victory over Yeovil Town last weekend, and has until the end of October to prove his credentials. 

Below is a list of the current permanent Football League managers, in order of appointment:

1Paul TisdaleExeter City06/06League 2
2Mark YatesCheltenham Town12/09League 2
3Karl RobinsonMilton Keynes Dons05/10League 1
4Dean SmithWalsall01/11League 1
5Darren FergusonPeterborough United01/11League 1
Jim BentleyMorecambe05/11League 2
7Paul CoxMansfield Town05/11League 2
8Phil ParkinsonBradford City08/11League 1
9Justin EdinburghNewport County10/11League 2
10Steve DavisCrewe Alexandra11/11League 1
11Gary JohnsonYeovil Town01/12League 1
12Steve EvansRotherham United04/12Championship
13Gary RowettBurton Albion05/12League 2
14Lee ClarkBirmingham City06/12Championship
15Richard MoneyCambridge United10/12League 2
16Neal ArdleyAFC Wimbledon10/12League 2
17Eddie HoweBournemouth10/12Championship
18Paul CookChesterfield10/12League 1
19Mick McCarthyIpswich Town11/12Championship
20Gareth AinsworthWycombe Wanderers11/12League 2
21Graham AlexanderFleetwood Town12/12League 1
22John SheridanPlymouth Argyle01/13League 2
23Keith HillRochdale01/13League 1
24Simon GraysonPreston North End02/13League 1
25John StillLuton Town02/13League 2
26Wayne BurnettDagenham & Redbridge02/13League 2
27Steven PressleyCoventry City03/13League 1
28Lee JohnsonOldham Athletic03/13League 1
29Phil BrownSouthend United03/13League 2
30Nigel AdkinsReading03/13Championship
31Graham WestleyStevenage03/13League 2
32Paul DickovDoncaster Rovers05/13League 1
33Gary BowyerBlackburn Rovers05/13Championship
34Kenny JackettWolverhampton Wanderers05/13Championship
35Mark CooperSwindon Town07/13League 1
36Steve McClarenDerby County09/13Championship
37Nigel CloughSheffield United10/13League 1
38Shaun DerryNotts County11/13League 1
39Peter TaylorGillingham11/13League 1
40Aitor KarankaMiddlesbrough11/13Championship
41Steve CotterillBristol City12/13League 1
42John GregoryCrawley Town12/13League 1
43Uwe RoslerWigan Athletic12/13Championship
44David FlitcroftBury12/13League 2
45Mark WarburtonBrentford12/13Championship
46Danny WilsonBarnsley12/13League 1
47Ian HollowayMillwall01/14Championship
48Stuart GraySheffield Wednesday01/14Championship
49Chris WilderNorthampton Town01/14League 2
50Andy AwfordPortsmouth03/14League 2
51Neil AdamsNorwich City04/14Championship
52Micky MellonShrewsbury Town05/14League 2
53Bob PeetersCharlton Athletic05/14Championship
54Sami HyypiaBrighton & Hove Albion06/14Championship
55Jose RigaBlackpool06/14Championship
56Stuart PearceNottingham Forest07/14Championship
57Michael AppletonOxford United07/14League 2
58Tony HumesColchester United09/14League 1
59Chris PowellHuddersfield Town09/14Championship
60John ColemanAccrington Stanley09/14League 2
61Keith CurleCarlisle United09/14League 2
62Darko MilanicLeeds United09/14Championship
63Slavisa JokanovicWatford10/14Championship
64Russell SladeCardiff City10/14Championship
65Neil LennonBolton Wanderers10/14Championship
66Mark RobinsScunthorpe United10/14League 1
67Russ WilcoxYork City10/14League 2
68Micky AdamsTranmere Rovers10/14League 2
N/AVacantHartlepool UnitedN/ALeague 2
N/AVacantLeyton OrientN/ALeague 1
N/AVacantPort ValeN/ALeague 1

Please note this data has been compiled on the basis of when individuals first took charge of a match, so in some instances this is from the period when they were installed as caretaker boss.

Advertisement block