Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Mark Yates departs Cheltenham Town

25 November 2014

Cheltenham Town have parted company with manager Mark Yates, who was the second-longest serving manager in The Football League.

Yates, 44, who won promotion as a player with the club, has departed Whaddon Road after almost five years in charge, having been appointed back in 2009.

A statement on the club's official website read: "Cheltenham Town have parted company with manager Mark Yates, with immediate effect.

"A popular figure and promotion-winning captain during his playing days, Yates returned to take charge at Whaddon Road on December 22, 2009 after leaving Kidderminster Harriers.

"He has since overseen more than 250 matches, twice guiding the club into the League 2 Play-Offs (2011/12 and 2012/13)."

Yates' departure comes after the Robins suffered a 4-1 defeat at home to Wycombe on Saturday, which left them 18th in Sky Bet League 2.

Overall, Yates guided the Robins to 93 victories in his 257 games at the helm, drawing 69 and losing 53. His tenure was the second-longest in The Football League, with only Exeter City manager Paul Tisdale ahead of him.

Below is a list of the current managers in The Football League, in order of their appointment:

1Paul TisdaleExeter City06/06League 2
2Karl RobinsonMilton Keynes Dons05/10League 1
3Dean SmithWalsall01/11League 1
4Darren FergusonPeterborough United01/11League 1
Jim BentleyMorecambe05/11League 2
6Phil ParkinsonBradford City08/11League 1
7Justin EdinburghNewport County10/11League 2
8Steve DavisCrewe Alexandra11/11League 1
9Gary JohnsonYeovil Town01/12League 1
10Steve EvansRotherham United04/12Championship
11Richard MoneyCambridge United10/12League 2
12Neal ArdleyAFC Wimbledon10/12League 2
13Eddie HoweBournemouth10/12Championship
14Paul CookChesterfield10/12League 1
15Mick McCarthyIpswich Town11/12Championship
16Gareth AinsworthWycombe Wanderers11/12League 2
17Graham AlexanderFleetwood Town12/12League 1
18John SheridanPlymouth Argyle01/13League 2
19Keith HillRochdale01/13League 1
20Simon GraysonPreston North End02/13League 1
21John StillLuton Town02/13League 2
22Wayne BurnettDagenham & Redbridge02/13League 2
23Steven PressleyCoventry City03/13League 1
24Lee JohnsonOldham Athletic03/13League 1
25Phil BrownSouthend United03/13League 2
26Nigel AdkinsReading03/13Championship
27Graham WestleyStevenage03/13League 2
28Paul DickovDoncaster Rovers05/13League 1
29Gary BowyerBlackburn Rovers05/13Championship
30Kenny JackettWolverhampton Wanderers05/13Championship
31Mark CooperSwindon Town07/13League 1
32Steve McClarenDerby County09/13Championship
33Nigel CloughSheffield United10/13League 1
34Shaun DerryNotts County11/13League 1
35Peter TaylorGillingham11/13League 1
36Aitor KarankaMiddlesbrough11/13Championship
37Steve CotterillBristol City12/13League 1
38John GregoryCrawley Town12/13League 1
39David FlitcroftBury12/13League 2
40Mark WarburtonBrentford12/13Championship
41Danny WilsonBarnsley12/13League 1
42Ian HollowayMillwall01/14Championship
43Stuart GraySheffield Wednesday01/14Championship
44Chris WilderNorthampton Town01/14League 2
45Andy AwfordPortsmouth03/14League 2
46Neil AdamsNorwich City04/14Championship
47Micky MellonShrewsbury Town05/14League 2
48Bob PeetersCharlton Athletic05/14Championship
49Sami HyypiaBrighton & Hove Albion06/14Championship
50Stuart PearceNottingham Forest07/14Championship
51Michael AppletonOxford United07/14League 2
52Tony HumesColchester United09/14League 1
53Chris PowellHuddersfield Town09/14Championship
54John ColemanAccrington Stanley09/14League 2
55Keith CurleCarlisle United09/14League 2
56Slavisa JokanovicWatford10/14Championship
57Russell SladeCardiff City10/14Championship
58Neil LennonBolton Wanderers10/14Championship
59Mark RobinsScunthorpe United10/14League 1
60Russ WilcoxYork City10/14League 2
61Micky AdamsTranmere Rovers10/14League 2
62Paul MurrayHartlepool United10/14League 2
63Mauro MilaneseLeyton Orient10/14League 1
64Gary RowettBirmingham City10/14Championship
65Rob PagePort Vale10/14League 1
66Kit SymonsFulham10/14Championship
67Lee ClarkBlackpool10/14Championship
68Neil RedfearnLeeds United10/14Championship
69Jimmy Floyd HasselbainkBurton Albion11/14League 2
70Malky MackayWigan Athletic11/14Championship
71VacantMansfield Town
N/ALeague 2
72VacantCheltenham TownN/ALeague 2

Please note this data has been compiled on the basis of when individuals first took charge of a match, so in some instances this is from the period when they were installed as caretaker boss.

Advertisement block