Skip to main content Skip to site footer

World Cup A-Z: Finals

22 May 2014

As we countdown the days to the start of the 2014 FIFA World Cup we turn our attentions to the 19 World Cup Finals that have been played so far, and take a closer look at the stats generated by those tournament-deciders:

99 - Including penalty shoot-outs, a total of 99 goals have been scored in 19 FIFA World Cup Finals.

48 - Along the way to picking up the most famous trophy in world sport, the winning nation have hit the back of the net on 48 occasions (not including penalty shoot-outs).

38 - In conquering the world, a total of 38 goals have been conceded by the champions in the Final (not including penalty shoot-outs).

36 - The height of the current World Cup trophy in centimetres is 36. Unlike it's predecessor, the Cup is not awarded to the winning country permanently - instead they are given a gold plated replica to keep

20 - This year's World Cup Final will be the 20th. The first was held in 1930.

19 - There have been 19 different captains who have lifted the gold trophy. Perhaps unsurprisingly (as you dig deeper into the stats) no-one has ever skippered a nation to success more than once.

10 - The winners have come from Europe 10 times. South America is the only other continent to enjoy success on the world stage.

8 - Over the 19 Finals played so far, eight different countries have triumphed.

7 - The most goals scored in a Final (excluding penalties) was when Brazil beat Sweden 5-2 in 1958.

6 - The World Cup has been won six times by a host country.

5 - Brazil have won the World Cup five times - the most by any nation (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002).

5 - The number of clean sheets kept by winning nations in the Final is five. There were four in a row between 1990 and 2002 (excluding penalty shoot-outs).

5 - Between 1978 and 1998 five of the six captains to lift the trophy had a Christian name beginning with D - Daniel, Dino, Diego, Dunga and Didier. Lothar Matthaus was sandwiched in between.

4 - Italy have four titles to their name (1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006).

4 - Four Finals have been won in extra-time. See E for Extra-time for more info

3 - [West] Germany have claimed the trophy on three different occasions (1954, 1974 and 1990).

3 - Three countries have won the World Cup outside of their continent. Brazil (1958, 1970, 1994 and 2002), Argentina (1986) and Spain in South Africa (2010)

3 - When Brazil won the Jules Rimet for the third time in 1970 they were entitled to keep it. It was stolen 13 years later and has never been recovered.

3 - Pele is the only player to have three winners' medals. He didn't play in 1962 due to injury but was retrospectively awarded a winners' medal in 2007 when FIFA announced all winning squad members from between 1930 and 1974 would now receive a medal.

2 - Argentina (1978 and 1986) and Uruguay (1930 and 1950) have won the tournament twice. The latter were the first ever winners.

2 - Two countries who have won successive titles - Italy (1934 and 1938) and Brazil (1958 and 1962).

2 - Only two World Cup Finals have required a penalty shoot-out to determine the winners (1990 and 2006).

2 - Vittorio Pozzo is the only coach to lead a nation to the trophy twice (1934 and 1938).

1 - Franz Beckenbauer is the only person to captain (1974) and coach (1990) a nation to victory in a World Cup Final.

1 - Only one Final has ended goalless after extra-time, in 1994 when Brazil drew with Italy over 120 minutes.

1 - Reigning champions Spain (2010) have only won the World Cup once - their success in South Africa was their first. It is the same tally as England (1966) and France (1998)

1/9th - A ninth of the population of the world is said to have tuned in to watch the 2006 World Cup Final.

Click here to see the other letters in our World Cup A to Z

Advertisement block