Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Sky Bet Football League Play-Offs in numbers

27 May 2014

0 - Fleetwood Town didn't concede a single goal in the Sky Bet League 2 Play-Offs.

1 - Queens Park Rangers scored with their only shot on target in their 1-0 Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final victory over Derby County.

2 - Bobby Zamora's winner for QPR was the second time the striker has scored the only goal of the game in a Play-Off Final, having also netted in West Ham United's 1-0 win against Preston North End in 2005.

2 - Derby were the only team to score more than one goal in the Semi-Final first legs when they netted twice at the Amex Stadium against Brighton and Hove Albion.

2 - This is the second time that Rotherham United have gone from the fourth tier to the second tier in successive seasons. When they were promoted from The Football League's bottom division in 1999/2000 they went straight through the third tier the following year.

3 - All three Play-Off Final winners were based in the East side of Wembley Stadium for their Final.

3 - Three of the six Semi-Final first legs finished level.

3 - Bobby Zamora's past three goals for QPR have all come in the 90th minute or later.

3 - Peterborough United had won their previous three Play-Off campaigns but lost 3-2 on aggregate to Leyton Orient at the Semi-Final stage in the Sky Bet League 1 Play-Offs.

4 - The team finishing fourth in League 1 has gone on to win the Play-Offs in each of the past four seasons.

4 - Derby overcame Brighton on all four occasions that the sides met this term.

4 - Steve Evans made it four successive promotion campaigns after leading his Rotherham United team to victory against Leyton Orient in the Sky Bet League 1 Play-Off Final.

6 - All six goals scored across the three Sky Bet Football League Play-Off Finals were netted at the East end of Wembley.

6 - Fleetwood Town secured their sixth promotion in 10 seasons after winning the Sky Bet League 2 Play-Off Final against Burton Albion.

7 - Queens Park Rangers extended their unbeaten run against Wigan to seven matches with a 0-0 first-leg draw followed by a 2-1 victory in the reverse fixture at the Semi-Final stage.

9 - This year was Preston North End's ninth Play-Off campaign, all of which have been unsuccessful.

10 - The penalty shoot-out between Rotherham United and Leyton Orient in the Sky Bet League 1 Play-Off Final was the 10th time spot-kicks have been needed to settle a Final in The Football League Play-Offs.

12 - Gary O'Neil became the 12th player to be sent off in a Football League Play-Off Final. That was also the first red card of his 15-year career.

15 - Burton Albion's Marcus Holness scored his first goal in 15 months when he netted for the Brewers in their Play-Off Semi-Final second leg against Southend United.

15 - Antoni Sarcevic's decisive goal in the Sky Bet League 2 Play-Off Final was his 15th of the season - making him Fleetwood's top goalscorer.

16 - QPR became the first fourth-placed team in the Championship to win the Play-Offs since Charlton Athletic in 1997/98, 16 years ago.

18 - Fleetwood's 1-0 victory at Bootham Crescent in their Semi-Final first leg against York was the Minstermen's first defeat in 18 outings.

24 - Joe Garner's spectacular strike in the Semi-Final first leg for Preston against Rotherham was the front man's 24th goal of the season.

26 - Rotherham United gathered 26 points from trailing positions in Sky Bet League 1 this season - more than any other side. They also came back from 2-0 down to win the Play-Off Final on penalties against Leyton Orient.

27 - Burton Albion's appearance at Wembley in the Sky Bet League 2 Play-Off was their first since the 1987 FA Trophy Final, 27 years ago.

68 - Derby had 68% of the possession in their 1-0 Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final defeat to QPR.

81 - Nathan Pond made his debut for Fleetwood in front of 81 supporters more than a decade ago - on Monday he was promoted to Sky Bet League 1 with the Cod Army in front of 14,007 fans.

100 - Chris Dagnall's winner for Leyton Orient against Peterborough United in the Semi-Finals was his 100th career goal.

250 - Moses Odubajo's opener in the Sky Bet League 1 Play-Off Final was the 250th goal scored in a Football League Play-Off Final.

1985 - Fleetwood Town's appearance at Wembley was their first since the 1985 FA Vase Final, when they lost 3-1 to Halesowen Town.

2003 - Following their 2-1 loss after extra time at Loftus Road, Wigan are now winless away against QPR since 2003, when they won 1-0 in a Division Two match.

87,348 - The Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final between Derby and QPR set a new record-high attendance for a second tier Play-Off Final, beating the previous best of 86,703 set in 2008.

144,756 - The combined attendance for all three Sky Bet Football League Play-Off Finals was 144,756.

Win Hospitality Tickets

The Football League would love to know what you think about the Play-Offs and its pivotal role in the football calendar. We have created a short survey, giving you the opportunity to give us your views which will help us ensure the Play-Offs continue to capture the imaginations of Football League fans. All fans completing the survey will be entered into a prize draw to win a pair of hospitality tickets to a Football League game of their choice next season.

Click here to complete the survey

Advertisement block