Skip to main content Skip to site footer
League Two

Sky Bet League 2 Team of the Season 2013/14

23 May 2014

Heading into the final game of the Sky Bet League 2 campaign with the Play-Off Final at Wembley on Bank Holiday Monday, the Sky Bet League 2 Team of the Season has been unveiled.

Chosen by a trio of pundits from BBC Sport's The Football League show - Manish Bhasin, Leroy Rosenior and Mark Clemmit - two players from the Play-Off Finalists have made the starting XI.

One of those is Burton Albion defender Ian Sharps, who will miss the Final due to suspension. Fleetwood Town's Antoni Sarcevic is the other player to be included.

Sky Bet League 2 champions and Johnstone's Paint Trophy runners-up Chesterfield are represented by three players, as are Rochdale, who joined the Spireites in gaining automatic promotion to Sky Bet League 1.

The Sky Bet League 2 Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Tommy Lee (Chesterfield)

Right-back: Lanre Oyebanjo (York City)
Centre-back: Ian Sharps (Burton Albion)
Centre-back: Ian Evatt (Chesterfield)
Left-back: Michael Rose (Rochdale)

Right-wing: Kevan Hurst (Southend United)
Centre-midfield: Antoni Sarcevic (Fleetwood Town)
Centre-midfield: Ian Henderson (Rochdale)
Left-wing: Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)

Striker: Scott Hogan (Rochdale)
Striker: Sam Winnall (Scunthorpe United)

Nick Pope (York City)
Michael Smith (Bristol Rovers)
Reuben Reid (Plymouth Argyle)
Sam Morsy (Chesterfield)
Billy Kee (Burton Albion)

Sharps has had an impressive season captaining the Brewers to the Sky Bet League 2 Play-Off Final, and alongside Chesterfield skipper Ian Evatt their combined age is 65, with experience shining through this term.

On the forward pairing, the decision was straightforward for the panel with Hogan and Winnall making the cut.

On Winnall, Mark Clemmit said: "For someone who was without a club when pre-season training started, Winnall has done tremendously well. Scunthorpe took a punt on him and it paid off handsomely."

See the full line-up and read more comments from the experts by purchasing an official Sky Bet League 2 Play-Off Final programme via

Advertisement block