Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Michael O'Connor to leave Rotherham United

28 May 2014

Rotherham United midfielder Michael O'Connor heads a list of seven players released by the club.

O'Connor, who played 34 times for the Millers this season and was an unused sub in Sunday's League 1 Play-Off Final win over Leyton Orient, is joined through the exit door by goalkeeper Scott Shearer, defender Claude Davis, midfielders Lionel Ainsworth and David Noble and striker Kayode Odejayi.

Danny Schofield also finally leaves the club after failing to feature since May 2012. He was told at the beginning of boss Steve Evans' tenure two years ago that he did not feature in his plans but was unable to agree an early termination of his deal.

There could be exits for David Worrall, who spent the second half of the season on loan at Oldham, and striker Danny Hylton, who had a temporary stay at AFC Wimbledon, as both men are transfer-listed.

There is better news for defenders Kari Arnason, Mark Bradley and striker Wes Thomas as they have been offered new deals at New York, with all three expected to sign in the coming weeks.

Youngsters Mitch Rose, Nicky Walker, Tony Thompson, Daniel Rowe and Reece Lucas have been offered development contracts.

A club statement read: "We would like to place on record our sincere thanks to those released who contributed to two magnificent years in this club's history."

Both O'Connor and Shearer spent two seasons in South Yorkshire, both of which ended in promotion and are sad to leave.

Northern Ireland international O'Connor said on Twitter: "Been a brilliant 2 years at @OfficialRUFC .. Want to thank everyone involved with the club. All the best in the championship."

Shearer added on the social networking site: "Want to thank everyone connected to Rotherham United for the last two years there, some special memories."

Advertisement block