Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Football League Awards 2014 winners

16 March 2014

The Football League Awards 2014 - Please click here for live blog and video

The Football League has announced the full list of winners for The Football League Awards 2014, the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs.

This year a total of 36 clubs were shortlisted for 17 awards and the winners were announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry.

The Awards were streamed live on The Football League's official YouTube and Facebook pages, as well as official club websites and YouTube channels for the first time ever. A global online audience watched on as Burnley's Danny Ings won the Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year Award. The Sky Bet League 1 award went to Brentford's Adam Forshaw and Chesterfield's Gary Roberts received the Sky Bet League 2 accolade.

The prestigious Contribution to League Football Award was presented to Crewe Alexandra Chairman John Bowler. It is the second time in the last four years that the gold trophy has headed to the Alexandra Stadium after Dario Gradi MBE was honoured in 2010.

The judges for the Football League Awards 2014 comprised of influential and respected representatives from the media, sponsors and The Football League, alongside industry experts for the various categories.

Shaun Harvey, Chief Executive of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2014 has given us the opportunity to reward outstanding achievement, both on and off the pitch, by Football League clubs.

"Every one of tonight's winners is a worthy recipient of their award and all the other nominees have helped set an exceptional standard this year.

"It has been a tremendous celebration of life in The Football League."

The full list of Award winners is shown below:

Contribution to League Football
John Bowler (Crewe Alexandra)

Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year
Danny Ings (Burnley)

Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year
Adam Forshaw (Brentford)

Sky Bet League 2 Player of the Year
Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)

Football League Young Player of the Year
Will Hughes (Derby County)

Johnstone's Paint Community Club of the Year
Brentford (Brentford Football Club Community Sports Trust)

Regional Winners
South West: Portsmouth (Pompey in the Community)
Midlands: Derby County (Derby County Community Trust)
North East: Doncaster Rovers (Doncaster Rovers Foundation)
North West: Morecambe (Morecambe Football Club Community Sports)

Mitre Goal of the Year
Franck Moussa (Coventry City)

Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement
Gary Johnson (Yeovil Town)

PFA Player in the Community
Reda Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday)

The Sir Tom Finney Award
Steve Fletcher

Perform Best Digital Content and Audience Growth
Derby County - Return of the Mac

Capital One Supporter of the Year
Phil Beeton (Leeds United)

Divisional winners
Brett Price (Sheffield United) - League 1
John Chapman (Dagenham & Redbridge) - League 2

LFE Apprentice of the Year for the Championship
Mason Bennett (Derby County)

LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 1
Brendan Galloway (Milton Keynes Dons)

LFE Apprentice of the Year for League 2
Bradley Walker (Hartlepool United)

Football League Family Club of the Year

Divisional winners
Wolverhampton Wanderers - League 1
Plymouth Argyle - League 2

Tokio Marine Unsung Hero
Frank Banks (Southend United - Community and Education Trust Volunteer)

Highly Commended
Norman Rimmington (Barnsley - Assistant Kitman)
Fred Woolven (Brighton & Hove Albion - Club Lottery Volunteer)

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please

Advertisement block