Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Soccer AM to reveal Top 10 goals of 2013

6 February 2014

Sky Sports' Soccer AM will this weekend reveal the 10 goals in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at The Football League Awards 2014.

The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs from across Football League competitions in 2013 will be shown by Max and Helen on the Sky Sports programme on Saturday morning, along with details on how fans can vote for their favourite.

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2013 for the competition.

The 10 best strikes have been selected to make the cut, with the fan vote then helping to decide the final shortlist of five goals. Alongside the vote, fans will be given a chance to win tickets to next month's star studded event.

You can see all 72 goals in contention for the Mitre Goal of the Year and make your own mind up as to which ones should make the Top 10 by watching them all:


Harry Arter (AFC Bournemouth) v Milton Keynes Dons - 02/02/2013
Paddy McCourt (Barnsley) v Middlesbrough - 19/10/2013
Lee Novak (Birmingham City) v Blackburn Rovers - 29/12/2013
Jason Lowe (Blackburn Rovers) v Middlesbrough - 02/11/2013
Thomas Ince (Blackpool) v Watford - 03/09/2013
Neil Danns (Bolton Wanderers) v Barnsley - 26/12/2013
Jake Forster-Caskey (Brighton and Hove Albion) v Doncaster Rovers - 02/11/2013
Danny Ings (Burnley) v Queens Park Rangers - 26/10/2013
Dale Stephens (Charlton Athletic) v Doncaster Rovers - 26/11/2013
Craig Bryson (Derby County) v Yeovil Town - 28/08/2013
David Cotterill (Doncaster Rovers) v Birmingham City - 03/12/2013
Joel Lynch (Huddersfield Town) v Charlton Athletic - 17/09/2013
Aaron Cresswell (Ipswich Town) v Cystal Palace - 16/04/2013
Rodolph Austin (Leeds United) v Burnley - 16/04/2013
Anthony Knockaert (Leicester City) v Huddersfield Town - 01/01/2013
Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough) v Doncaster Rovers - 25/10/2013
Shane Lowry (Millwall) v Charlton Athletic - 16/03/2013
Matt Derbyshire (Nottingham Forest) v Leeds United - 29/12/2013
Charlie Austin (Queens Park Rangers) v Charlton Athletic - 23/11/2013
Garath McCleary (Reading) v Queens Park Rangers - 09/11/2013
Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday) v Blackburn ROvers - 04/06/2013
Troy Deeney (Watford) v Leicester City - 12/05/2013
Nick Powell (Wigan Athletic) v Bolton Wanderers - 15/12/2013
Paddy Madden (Yeovil Town) v Brentford - 19/05/2013

League 1

Kyel Reid (Bradford City) v Walsall - 10/05/2013
Sam Saunders (Brentford) v Swindon Town - 26/12/2013
Jay Emmanuel-Thomas (Bristol City) v Bristol Rovers - 04/09/2013
Tom Lawrence (Carlisle United) v Tranmere Rovers - 14/12/2013
Freddie Sears (Colchester United) v Walsall - 12/10/2013
Franck Moussa (Coventry City) v Leyton Orient - 22/10/2013
Billy Clarke (Crawley Town) v Wolverhampton Wanderers - 23/08/2013
Luke Murphy (Crewe Alexandra) v Southend United - 07/04/2013
Cody McDonald (Gillingham) v Walsall - 29/12/2013
Dean Cox (Leyton Orient) Sheffield United - 30/11/2013
Patrick Bamford (Milton Keynes Dons) v Rotherham United - 19/10/2013
Callum McGregor (Notts County) v Gillingham - 22/10/2013
Carl Winchester (Oldham Athletic) v Swindon Town - 26/10/2013
Britt Assombalonga (Peterborough United) v Bristol City - 14/09/2013
Josh Brownhill (Preston North End) v Carlisle United - 26/12/2013
Jennison Myrie-Williams (Port Vale) v Shrewsbury Town - 16/11/2013
Ben Pringle (Rotherham United) v Sheffield Wednesday - 06/08/2013
Jose Baxter (Sheffield United) v Oldham Athletic - 12/26/2013
Joe Jacobson (Shrewsbury Town) v Sheffield United - 02/11/2013
James Dunne (Stevenage) v Doncaster Rovers - 12/01/2013
Ryan Mason (Swindon Town) v Wolverhampton Wanderers - 14/09/2013
Ryan Lowe (Tranmere Rovers) v Coventry City - 21/11/2013
Milan Lalkovic (Walsall) v Carlisle United - 21/12/2013
Bakary Sako (Wolverhampton Wanderers) v Sheffield United -28/09/2013

League 2

Peter Murphy (Accrington Stanley) v Portsmouth - 10/08/2013
George Francomb (AFC Wimbledon) v Brentford - 03/09/2013
Oliver Norburn (Bristol Rovers) v Cheltenham Town - 05/02/2013
Phil Edwards (Burton Albion) v Hartlepool United - 21/12/2013
Jessy Reindorf (Bury) v Norwich City - 27/08/2013
Jamie Cureton (Cheltenham Town) v Dagenham & Redbridge - 10/12/2013
Drew Talbot (Chesterfield) v Burton Albion - 30/03/2013
Abu Ogogo (Dagenham & Redbridge) v Chesterfield - 29/12/2013
Arron Davies (Exeter City) v Scunthorpe United - 19/10/2013
Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town) vRotherham United - 10/12/2013
James Poole (Hartlepool United) v Notts County - 02/02/2013
Ben Hutchinson (Mansfield Town) v Portsmouth - 23/08/2013
Ryan Williams (Morecambe) v Wolverhampton Wanderers - 06/08/2013
Michael Flynn (Newport County) v Wycombe Wanderers - 26/12/2013
Luke Guttridge (Northampton Town) v Cheltenham Town - 05/05/2013
James Constable (Oxford United) v Torquay United - 17/08/2013
Lewis Alessandra (Plymouth Argyle) v Birmingham City - 06/08/2013
Jed Wallace (Portsmouth) v York City - 28/09/13
Ian Henderson (Rochdale) v Cheltenham Town - 19/10/2013
Deon Burton (Scunthorpe United) v Morecambe - 21/12/2013
Kevan Hurst (Southend United) v Rotherham United - 02/03/2013
Ashley Yeoman (Torquay United) v Morecambe - 20/04/2013
Jo Kuffour (Wycombe Wanderers) v Leicester City - 06/08/2013
Ryan Brobbel (York City) v Scunthorpe United - 13/10/2013

Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award are Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City - 2009), Sylvain Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers - 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United - 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City - 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County - 2005).

The overall winner of the best goal from 2013 will be decided at The Football League Awards, which takes place at The Brewery in London on Sunday 16th March.

For more about The Football League Awards visit or search for #FLAwardson Twitter.

Advertisement block