Skip to main content Skip to site footer

John Ruddy and Andros Townsend lead England's Football League chart

27 February 2014

England manager Roy Hodgson has named 23 former Football League players in his 30-man squad for the friendly against Denmark at Wembley next Wednesday.

Goalkeeper John Ruddy and winger Andros Townsend have played for the highest number of teams in The Football League with eight clubs each. Southampton's Rickie Lambert has turned out for six different League sides during his ascent to the Premier League.

The two teams who have been represented the most by the current England crop are Stockport County, now of the Conference North, and Championship outfit Watford; three players have featured for these clubs during their respective careers.

Ben Foster, Tom Cleverly and Townsend have previously pulled on a shirt for the Hornets, while Fraser Forster, Ruddy and Lambert have donned the blue of Stockport.

Southampton's Luke Shaw, who has never appeared in The League, is the only uncapped player in the squad but could be handed his debut against the Danes in the final game before Hodgson names his provisional squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

The other six players from Hodgson's squad without Football League experience are Chris Smalling, Steven Gerrard, Raheem Streling, Jack Wilshere, Wayne Rooney and Daniel Sturridge.

The full England squad to face Denmark at Wembley on Wednesday 5th March:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Steven Caulker (Cardiff City), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Toronto), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).

Advertisement block