Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Tranmere Rovers wins North West Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

24 March 2013

Tranmere Rovers has been named the North West Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Susan Bencheikh, Trustee of Tranmere in the Community, received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening attended by over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Other regional winners included Huddersfield Town (North East) and Cardiff City (South West). The overall Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year Award went to South East winners Charlton Athletic.

Tranmere Rovers in the Community has developed into an all-encompassing organisation that covers four core themes; sports participation, social inclusion, education and health. Over the years they have progressed to a successful charity with the addition of fulltime, part time and casual staff. This has allowed them to substantially increase the volume of activities conducted to include 22 projects with 34,700 participants.

Their showcase project Active Rovers is a Football Foundation funded project subsidised through matched funding from the Wirral NHS. The project addresses the health inequalities of local men over the age of 40 through a series of weekly sessions based around sport and education. The men are also health tested and given action plans to help achieve their fitness goals.

On winning the award, Susan Bencheikh, Trustee of Tranmere in the Community, said: "It's absolutely amazing to get the award. Words cannot describe how it feels. It means so much to the community team - they thoroughly deserve this award. We feel very privileged to have been a part of the awards ceremony tonight."

When assessing the category, judges looked to recognise the best overall community scheme from the 2012 calendar year based on their engagement with the local community.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block