Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Shilton honoured with Contribution to League Football Award

24 March 2013

Peter Shilton OBE has been honoured with the Contribution to League Football Award at The Football League Awards 2013.

Shilton received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Each year, this prestigious Award is presented by the Board of The Football League to an individual that has given a lifetime's service to the professional game.

Former Leicester City, Nottingham Forest, Southampton and England goalkeeper Peter Shilton is one of the true greats of English football. As the holder of The Football League's all-time appearance record, he is the only player in its 125-year history to play in more than 1,000 league matches.

The legendary custodian's list of honours includes being crowned Second Division Champions with boyhood club Leicester in 1970/71 and winning the League title and two European Cups with Brian Clough's famous Forest side between 1978 and 1980.

A distinguished England career saw him earn 125 caps, another record tally, and represent his country in three World Cup Finals despite not appearing in his first until the age of 32. He shares the record for number of World Cup clean sheets, having kept 10 in his 17 matches on the game's biggest stage.

On winning the award, Shilton said: "It is certainly up there with all the awards I have won in the past.

"I played in The Football League for 30 years and had a fantastic time. The Football League is about real football people who do it for the love of the game and I am really pleased to pick this award up."

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "During a glittering career, spanning four decades, Peter Shilton has been an outstanding servant to League football. As the holder of The Football League's all-time appearance record, Peter has made a huge contribution to the English game and it is a privilege to present him with this Award."

Previous winners include Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block