Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Parkinson wins Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement Award

24 March 2013

Bradford City manager Phil Parkinson has won the Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement Award at The Football League Awards 2013.

Parkinson received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Parkinson beat three other shortlisted managers to the Award, Cardiff City's Malkay Mackay, Yeovil Town's Gary Johnson and Paul Sturrock, formerly of Southend United.

Parkinson was put forward after his historical achievement of taking a League 2 club to the Capital One Cup Final, beating three Premier League teams in the process.

Nominations for the award were invited from Sports Interactive's 'Football Manager' community.

On winning his award, Parkinson said: "This is a special award and I feel very honoured to receive it. It is not just the team on the pitch; the efforts of the team behind the manager have been fantastic.

"For me to get the award is reward for everyone involved. I have loved what we have achieved this season and hope I can help the club to progress and go on improving."

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block