Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Huddersfield Town wins North East Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

24 March 2013

Huddersfield Town has been named the North East Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013

Paul France, Community Director, from Huddersfield Town received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening attended by over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Other regional winners included Tranmere Rovers (North West) and Cardiff City (South West). The overall Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year Award went to South East winners Charlton Athletic.

Huddersfield Town's Community Trust is dedicated to developing and delivering diverse schemes across Kirklees. With 33 projects and 203,391 participants, they promote football skills, learning, health, and wellbeing which will ultimately make a difference within the community. The varied nature of their programme has resulted in an increase in numbers within all sectors and age groups during 2012.

Their showcase project ensures that children and young people in the local community; many of whom would otherwise only have one hot meal a day - are offered a hot, healthy and nutritious complimentary breakfast for a whole school year. Over 5,000 breakfasts were served across 5 schools, since the launch of the first Breakfast Club in November 2012 until the end of December 2012.

When assessing the category, judges looked to recognise the best overall community scheme from the 2012 calendar year based on their engagement with the local community.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block