Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Derby County's Nick Webster is npower Championship Fan of the Year

24 March 2013

Derby County supporter Nick Webster has been named the npower Championship Fan of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Nick received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Coventry City supporter Pat Raybould picked up the League 1 title while the overall npower Fan of the Year award went to Exeter City's Neil Le Milliere.

Known as the 'Derby County Flag Man', Nick travels to home and away fixtures carrying one of the largest fan flags as well as arranging supporter's travel to games, always ensuring there is a great atmosphere. Raising awareness of his club through social media, he not only carries the flag, but helps creates a great team spirit in the stands.

When assessing the category, judges looked for someone they felt had gone above and beyond the call of duty and added that extra special bit of devotion to their club.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block