Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Derby County wins Midlands Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

24 March 2013

Derby County has been named the Midlands Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013

Simon Carnell, Head of Community, from Derby County received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening attended by over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Other regional winners included Tranmere Rovers (North West) and Cardiff City (South West). The overall Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year Award went to South East winners Charlton Athletic.

With 32 full-time staff and through a diverse range of 30 projects, Derby County has engaged with over 22,500 children and adults in 2012. Committed to ensuring a response to local need, the community arm of Derby County have played a prominent role in addressing major issues such as childhood obesity, community cohesion, health inequalities, unemployment and educational attainment.

Their showcase project 'Active Choices' focused on a healthy lifestyle and behavioural change programme which supports people in drug treatment services to remain drug free, using sports as a vehicle for change. They deliver a programme of physical activity that supports adults who have previously used Class A drugs and who are now drug free. The programme provides a 32-48 week personalised prevention programme taking into account a client's health status, lifestyle and personal references.

When assessing the category, judges looked to recognise the best overall community scheme from the 2012 calendar year based on their engagement with the local community.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block