Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Cox wins Mitre Goal of the Year Award

24 March 2013

Nottingham Forest's Simon Cox has won the Mitre Goal of the Year Award at the Football League Awards 2013.

David Cox, Simon's father, collected the award on Simon's behalf at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Cox's deft touch and first time hit past the goalkeeper against Birmingham City was voted as the best goal in 2012 from a final shortlist of five.

During 2012, more than 5,000 goals were scored in Football League competitions. To find the best, each Football League club was asked to nominate their club's best goal from the 2012 calendar year. In conjunction with the presenters and viewers of Sky Sports' Soccer AM these were narrowed down to a shortlist of five contenders with the eventual winner being voted for on the night.

On collecting the award, David Cox said: "I am pleased as punch for him to get this, he is currently on international duty with Ireland but I know he is watching the awards on his laptop to see if he has won. I am sure there was a big cheer there when it was announced.

"He will be very pleased and I am happy to pick it up for him, he deserves it."

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block