Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Cardiff City wins South West Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

24 March 2013

Cardiff City has been named the South West Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Scott Young, Community and Education Foundation Manager, from Cardiff City received the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening attended by over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Other regional winners included Huddersfield Town (North East) and Derby County (Midlands). The overall Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year Award went to South East winners Charlton Athletic.

Since securing charitable status the Cardiff City FC Community Foundation has played a central role in improving the lives and opportunities for the people making up the local communities.

The foundation's hard work through 43 projects with 43,389 participants has strengthened links between the club and its local community. A vital ingredient to this success includes provision for previously underrepresented groups.

Their showcase project 'Futsal & Education Scholarship' is a two year programme of study where learners complete a BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Sport (Performance & Excellence), NVQ Level 2 in Activity Leadership, Technical sessions and participate in Football League Trust Futsal Leagues.

When assessing the category, judges looked to recognise the best overall community scheme from the 2012 calendar year based on their engagement with the local community.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have exceeded expectations and achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block