Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Bournemouth named League 1 Family Club of the Year

24 March 2013

AFC Bournemouth has been named League 1 Family Club of the Year at The Football League Awards 2013.

Serena Stone, Ticket Office Supervisor, from AFC Bournemouth collected the award at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Plymouth Argyle won the League 2 award whilst Cardiff City beat five clubs from across The Football League to the overall award with the final shortlist also comprising Brighton & Hove Albion, Doncaster Rovers and Oxford United.

AFC Bournemouth consistently aims to provide a good family experience with value for money on junior and family tickets. Through adding value to membership, attractive junior and family pricing and match day entertainment the club has grown its junior membership significantly and is now effectively engaging their younger fans.

When assessing the category, judges looked for the club that best demonstrated outstanding delivery of activity to attract and retain family attendance at games.

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards 2013 has given us another opportunity to celebrate success at League clubs both on and off the pitch. It gives us the chance to reward those who have achieved fantastic results throughout the year. I would like to congratulate tonight's winners and all those who were nominated."

Other notable winners on the night included Watford's Matej Vydra, who walked away with the npower Championship Player of the Year Award. The npower League 1 and npower League 2 Player of the Year Awards went to AFC Bournemouth's Matt Ritchie and Port Vale's Tom Pope respectively.

Peter Shilton OBE received the prestigious Contribution to League Football Award. Previous winners include Shrewsbury Town manager Graham Turner, Crewe Alexandra Director of Football Dario Gradi MBE and PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor OBE.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block