Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Football League Awards shortlists announced

20 February 2013

The Football League has announced the shortlists for The Football League Awards 2013, the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs.

This year there are a total of 17 awards, with the winners being announced at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 24th March 2013.

A total of 24 clubs have made the shortlists for the eight categories announced. Huddersfield Town and Plymouth Argyle lead the way with three nominations each, while a further four clubs have two nominations.

Richard Heaselgrave, Chief Commercial Officer at The Football League, said: "The Football League Awards are a great way to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes at each club, as well as the action that has taken place on the pitch each week.

"To make these shortlists is a real achievement, bearing in mind how many and the quality of the entries we've had once again. I would like to wish all those nominated the best of luck and we look forward to announcing the winners on the evening."

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of judges on 5th February 2013, following a stringent assessment process. Judges included influential members of media, sports industry figures and representatives of The Football League and its partners.

The shortlisted awards are shown below:

Family Club of the Year
AFC Bournemouth
Brighton & Hove Albion
Cardiff City
Doncaster Rovers
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle

Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year
Cardiff City (Cardiff City Community & Education Foundation) - South West & Wales
Charlton Athletic (Charlton Athletic Community Trust) - South East
Derby County (Derby County in the Community) - Midlands
Huddersfield Town (Huddersfield Town Football In The Community) - North East
Tranmere Rovers (Tranmere Rovers In The Community) - North West

Perform Best Use of Digital
Birmingham City
Bristol City
Crystal Palace
Leeds United
Plymouth Argyle
Swindon Town

Tokio Marine Unsung Hero Award
John Harriss - AFC Bournemouth
Billy Neil - Millwall
Peter Rhoades-Brown - Oxford United

PFA Player in the Community
Inigo Calderon - Brighton and Hove Albion
Alan Lee - Huddersfield Town
Mark Roberts - Stevenage

LFE Apprentice of the Year - Championship
Dimitar Evtimar - Nottingham Forest
Duane Holmes - Huddersfield Town
Bernard Mensah - Watford

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 1
Luke James - Hartlepool United
George Willis - Sheffield United
Drey Wright - Colchester United

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 2
Jamie Allen - Rochdale
Tyler Harvey - Plymouth Argyle
George Sykes - Barnet

Clubs not shortlisted for these awards could still taste success on the evening. There will also be awards on the night for the Mitre Goal of the Year, Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement Award, npower Fan of the Year, npower Player of the Year for the Championship, League 1 and League 2, Johnstone's Paint Young Player of the Year, and Contribution to League Football.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please click here

Advertisement block