Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Carabao Cup

Live Capital One Cup action

16 August 2012

Capital One Cup Round 2 TV selections confirmed

Following the draw for the Second Round of the Capital One Cup, Nottingham Forest versus Wigan Athletic and Northampton Town versus Wolverhampton Wanderers have both been selected as featured TV games. 

To get through to Round 2, Forest had to overcome a tough test in the shape of Football League newcomers Fleetwood Town. 

A 57th-minute goal from Dexter Blackstock was enough to send Sean O'Driscoll's men through and earn them a home tie against Premier League side Wigan.

The City Ground outfit have a rich history in the competition, lifting the trophy no less than four times. Their most recent triumph was in 1990 when they beat Oldham Athletic 1-0 at Wembley Stadium.

The Latics, meanwhile, reached the final of the competition in 2006 where they played Manchester United. Sir Alex Ferguson's side ran out 4-0 winners in front of 66,000 people at the Millennium Stadium.

Northampton Town beat last year's finalists Cardiff City 2-1 to set up their Second Round tie with Wolves.

The Cobblers have quite a reputation for knocking out higher league opposition in the tournament and famously beat Liverpool in 2010 at Anfield, making them the last side to beat the Reds in the competition. 

Championship side Wolves are two-time winners of the tournament, lifting the trophy in 1974 and 1980.

The match between Nottingham Forest and Wigan Athletic on 28th August will kick-off at 19.45pm, while the tie between Northampton and Wolves will be shown two days later, on the 30th August, also with a 19.45pm kick-off.

Both games will be live on Sky Sports.

Advertisement block