Skip to main content Skip to site footer

The Alan Hardaker Trophy is named after the EFL's former secretary who conceived the League Cup and oversaw its launch in 1960.

All winners of the prestigious trophy since 1990 are listed below. 

2023 Casemiro (Manchester United)

2022 Virgin van Dijk (Liverpool)

2021 Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

2020 Phil Foden (Manchester City)

2019 Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

2018 Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)

2017 Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)

2016 Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)

2015 John Terry (Chelsea)

2014 Samir Nasri (Manchester City)

2013 Nathan Dyer (Swansea City)

2012 Stewart Downing (Liverpool)

2011 Ben Foster (Birmingham City)

2010 Antonio Valencia (Manchester United)

2009 Ben Foster (Manchester United)

2008 Jonathan Woodgate (Tottenham Hotspur)

2007 Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

2006 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2005 John Terry (Chelsea)

2004 Boudewijn Zenden (Middlesbrough)

2003 Jerzy Dudek (Liverpool)

2002 Brad Friedel (Blackburn Rovers)

2001 Robbie Fowler (Liverpool)

2000 Matt Elliott (Leicester City)

1999 Allan Nielsen (Tottenham Hotspur)

1998 Dennis Wise (Chelsea)

1997 Steve Walsh (Leicester City)

1996 Andy Townsend (Aston Villa)

1995 Steve McManaman (Liverpool)

1994 Kevin Richardson (Aston Villa)

1993 Paul Merson (Arsenal)

1992 Brian McClair (Manchester United)

1991 Nigel Pearson (Sheffield Wednesday)

1990 Des Walker (Nottingham Forest)