Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Green Clubs


EFL Green Clubs is a League wide scheme that will help support Clubs across the country to improve their environmental practices and operations.

In a first for football, the EFL joined forces with GreenCode – the environmental accreditation scheme from environmentalist Dale Vince and the team who have helped Forest Green Rovers become recognised by the United Nations and FIFA as the world’s greenest football club. 

How does the scheme work for EFL Clubs?

With the aim to share that expertise across its 72 members, EFL Green Clubs comprises an accreditation scheme that assesses clubs environmental rating and offers steps for continual improvement.

After an initial assessment of operations, clubs are given bespoke guidance and practical advice on how to implement change in their environmental operations. As all EFL clubs will be at different stages of their environmental journey, when club operations are at the required level for a full audit, they will be put forward to become GreenCode accredited, which is the ultimate goal. 

Clubs may not achieve the GreenCode accreditation right away, but by engaging the process, assessing operations and actively engaging with the scheme, clubs will be given EFL Green Club member status.

How was EFL Green Clubs established?

The EFL has provided funding to enable any EFL club to access the scheme in its first year, while the EFL as an organisation will also be undertaking a GreenCode assessment to help improve its own environmental practice.

GreenCode Accredited Clubs:


  • Forest Green Rovers 

EFL Green Club Members:


  • AFC Bournemouth*
  • Barnsley
  • Birmingham City
  • Blackburn Rovers
  • Blackpool
  • Bolton Wanderers
  • Bradford City
  • Bristol City
  • Bristol Rovers
  • Burton Albion
  • Cambridge United
  • Cardiff City
  • Carlisle United
  • Charlton Athletic
  • Crewe Alexandra
  • Derby County
  • Doncaster Rovers
  • Exeter City
  • Forest Green Rovers
  • Grimsby Town
  • Harrogate Town
  • Hull City
  • Ipswich Town
  • Leyton Orient
  • Lincoln City
  • Luton Town
  • Middlesbrough
  • Millwall
  • Morecambe
  • Northampton Town
  • Norwich City
  • Nottingham Forest*
  • Oxford United
  • Plymouth Argyle
  • Portsmouth
  • Port Vale
  • Queens Park Rangers
  • Rochdale
  • Rotherham United
  • Salford City
  • Scunthorpe United*
  • Sheffield United
  • Sheffield Wednesday
  • Shrewsbury Town
  • Sutton United
  • Swansea City
  • Swindon Town
  • Walsall
  • Tranmere Rovers
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • Wigan Athletic
  • Wycombe Wanderers

*in the EFL when the scheme began