Skip to main content Skip to site footer

EFL Board

The EFL Board of Directors is responsible for providing the organisation's strategic direction. 

The board consists of 10 directors, six of whom are divisional representatives elected by member clubs. The divisional representatives include three directors from Championship clubs, two from League One clubs and one from a League Two club. The remaining four directors are independent of clubs and include the chairman, the chief executive and two independent non-executive directors.

Ian Lenagan

Non-Executive Chairman

Oxford United Chairman Ian Lenagan was elected to the Board of the EFL as a League Two representative in 2013, before succeeding Greg Clarke as EFL Non-Executive Chairman in June 2016.

Upon his election, Lenagan said: “It is a great honour to be asked to be Chairman of the EFL and lead our 72 clubs in the next stage of our development under the new EFL brand. I look forward to continuing the Board’s progressive work that is being delivered for the benefit of all our member clubs.”

Shaun Harvey

Chief Executive

Shaun Harvey was appointed Chief Executive of The EFL in July 2013, joining from Leeds United where he served as Chief Executive for nine years. The Yorkshireman was previously a member of The EFL Board of Directors, having been elected to the role by clubs in June 2011. Prior to his time at Elland Road, Harvey was Managing Director of Bradford City for ten years, having originally begun his career in football as Club Secretary of Scarborough in 1993. 

Richard Bowker CBE

Independent Non-Executive Director

Richard Bowker CBE joined the Board in March 2012 as Independent Non-Executive Director.  With a proven track record in the transport industry at home and abroad, Richard has previously served as Group Chief Executive of National Express, Chairman and Chief Executive of the Strategic Rail Authority, Vice Chairman of British Waterways and Group Commercial Director of Virgin. 

Richard is only the second person to have held the post of Independent Director of the EFL since the introduction of the role in 2004. He replaced Ian Ritchie, who stood down to become Chief Executive of the Rugby Football Union.

Debbie Jevans CBE

Independent Non-Executive Director

Debbie Jevans joined the Board of the EFL in 2014, with her addition bringing an independent voice to its decision-making process. 
A former professional tennis player, Jevans is on the Board of Sport England and was voted the most influential woman in British Sport in early 2014 by the Guardian. Previously she was Director of Sport for LOCOG - organisers of the London 2012 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games.

Nigel Howe

Championship Director – Reading

Howe, who has held the position of Chief Executive at Reading since 1995, was voted onto the EFL Board by Championship Clubs for a period of three years and will replace Brighton & Hove Albion’s Paul Barber following the club’s promotion to the Premier League.

On his Board election, Howe said: “I feel privileged to be appointed to the EFL's Board of Directors as a representative for the Championship and it is an honour to have been elected by my peers to the position."

Jez Moxey

Championship Director – Burton Albion

Jez Moxey was appointed to the EFL Board in 2015. He joined Norwich City in July 2016 after serving 16 years as Chief Executive of Wolverhampton Wanderers before becoming a non-executive director at Burton Albion in 2017. Prior to that, Moxey had been with Stoke City, where he had held the post of Chief Executive since January 1995. He has also previously worked with Glasgow Rangers and Partick Thistle in Scotland. 

Following his Board election, Moxey said: “It is a privilege and honour to have been voted onto the EFL board by colleagues from Championship clubs. I look forward to working with the Chairman, CEO and the other directors of the EFL. 

"I will do what I can to provide positive support, help and guidance on the various issues and challenges that the League faces. Part of the role is to protect and promote the interests of the Championship as well as the League as a whole and I will always keep the clubs at the forefront of my thinking." 

Cliff Crown

Championship Chairman Director - Brentford

Cliff Crown was appointed to the EFL Board in July 2016, replacing Keith Lamb as a Championship representative. EFL Chairman Ian Lenagan said: “Cliff brings a wealth of expertise to this role and it gives me great pleasure to welcome him on to the EFL Board.” 

Cliff Crown said: “I am honoured and delighted to have been chosen by my peers to represent the Championship on the EFL Board and I look forward to serving the EFL over the next three years to the very best of my ability.”

Stefan Gamble

League One Director - Walsall

Stefan Gamble, Chief Executive of Walsall, was elected to the EFL Board in 2016. Following his appointment, Gamble, who previously served as Alternate Director for League One, said: “I am delighted to have been handed this opportunity to work on behalf of all League One clubs and I will endeavour to represent them, and their issues, to the best of my ability during the course of my tenure. 

“The EFL and its clubs across the three divisions continue to be faced with many varied challenges and opportunities and as a member of the Board, I hope to be able to make a valuable and lasting contribution that can yield collective benefit.” 

James Rodwell

League One Director – Scunthorpe United

Scunthorpe United Chief Executive James Rodwell was re-elected to the Board of the EFL as a League One representative in 2015. He previously served on the Board during his time as Chief Executive of Notts County and stood for the position, once again, after moving to Scunthorpe United to serve in a similar capacity. 

Upon his re-election, Rodwell said: "I am pleased and tremendously honoured that the League One clubs have voted for me to be their representative on the Board of the EFL. This is a role I have undertaken previously and thoroughly enjoyed."

John Nixon

League Two Director – Carlisle United

John Nixon was appointed to the EFL Board in June 2016, replacing Ian Lenagan as the League Two representative. 
In welcoming Nixon back onto the League Board for a second stint, now Non-Executive Chairman Lenagan said: "I’m delighted that John Nixon has been selected by League Two clubs to serve on the EFL Board. John brings with him a wealth of experience in the game from his time at Carlisle, as Chairman of the EFL Trust and from his previous appointments to the Boards of the EFL and FA."

Julian Tagg

Alternative League Two Director  Exeter City

He replaces Plymouth Argyle Chief Executive Martyn Starnes following the Pilgrims’ promotion to League One and, as an Alternate Director, will also sit on the EFL Commercial Committee.

Tagg has held numerous roles during his long-standing affiliation with the Grecians including Reserve Team Manager, Chief Executive and Chairman.